Dave Wilson Nursery FORUMS - Fruit, Nut and Ornamental Trees  

Go Back   Dave Wilson Nursery FORUMS - Fruit, Nut and Ornamental Trees > Home Fruit & Nut Growing > Fruit Tree Varieties

Old 01-15-2012, 12:05 PM

Default 4 in 1 vs single variety?

Hi,

My local nursery (Summerwinds Nursery near San Jose, CA) just got their first shipment of DWN 4 in 1 pluot trees in. They said they're flavor king, flavor queen, Dapple, and Flavor Supreme. I'm considering getting one vs. two or three separate trees of those same varieties.

I was wondering if any of you experts out here have any opinions about the pros and cons of getting a 4 in 1 vs. single variety trees. As in, will the 4 in 1 tree have just as good fruit as a single variety tree? Will they be just as sweet, size, and plentiful of fruit? Any other pros or cons of getting a multi-grafted tree besides the obvious space savings.

As a newbie, I may be overlooking something that I may run into in future years.

Thanks!
Old 01-15-2012, 04:06 PM

Default Favorite pluot

heytae:

Biggest problem I'd have is that three of those varieties are outdated IMO. Flavor Supreme doesn't set, Dapple Dandy doesn't get very sweet, and Flavor Queen cracks plus it's all sugar and no flavor. My favorites are Geo Pride, Flavor Grenade, Flavor King, and Flavor Finale. Get those four and plant them all right next to each other if necessary, spread out if you can.

It's standard practice to put the old standby varieties on a multigrafted tree. But Zaiger has made advances and there are better new varieties, in some cases.

Either way, multigraft or several trees in a hole, will give same fruit quality if thinning, crop load, and light into the canopy are similar.

Your tastes and climate will be different than mine. Plus I grow in a greenhouse. But good fruit in one area is usually good fruit in another provided both get adequate heat and light.
Old 01-15-2012, 05:58 PM

My thoughts: